Reformation Sunday: Pray and Fast for Christian Unity

Reformation Sunday: Pray and Fast for Christian Unity

Many Christians around the world will be celebrating Reformation Sunday this Sunday October 27. Many will be mourning it. Many might not even care one way or another.

I myself find this to be a very sad day, and I think many Catholics would agree.

In light of the need for Christian Unity, I propose that we all endeavour to pray and fast for universal communion with all our brothers and sisters in Christ to return. Not on Reformation Sunday itself, however, as Sunday is always a day of celebration. Saturday 26th, therefore, would be the most appropriate day.

I’ve written a bit on Christian unity before, in “Why I attend an Anglican Bible Study“, and my series on denominations.

Spread the word!

+AMDG

8 thoughts on “Reformation Sunday: Pray and Fast for Christian Unity

  1. […] Reformation Sunday: Pray and Fast for Christian Unity   (carpeveritatemcatholic.wordpress.com) […]

  2. MissesC says:

    Most people do not know the gift they been given by being able to pray. I lived in a communist country for many years. We should all UNITE. We are all, supposedly, followers of Christ. The rest is just another excuse to argue.

    • Monica says:

      True unity will only ever be achieved with some degree of discussion, but this shouldn’t look like argument in the quarrelsome sense, I agree. It should be done with clarity, in charity. 🙂

  3. […] My initial thoughts were posted here: […]

  4. […] I mentioned earlier, Reformation Sunday just occurred. Although I knew there would be some who would herald it as a […]

  5. I appreciate your devotion. Thank you for the follow.

    Blessings.

Leave a Reply

